A Trip to New York

Over the weekend I traveled to New York City and spent the day in Manhattan. After some initial confusion in the subway, I emerged on Central Park West, near 71st Street, just a a block from the Dakota, where John Lennon was shot, and the entrance to Strawberry Fields. The first image I saw was a sign reading:

NYPD Security Camera in Area

NYPD Security Camera in Area

John Lennon Memorial

John Lennon Imagine Mosaic Memorial at Strawberry Fields in Central Park

I strolled through the park, then down 5th Avenue. My adventure took me, among other places, to the NBA store where Magic Johnson was signing copies of his book.

Magic Jognson posing for a photo at the NBA store on 5th Avenue

Magic Johnson posing for a photo at the NBA store on 5th Avenue

I walked down West 51st to 7th Avenue and down to Times Square. These security cameras were all over town.

NYPD Security Camera in Times Square

NYPD Security Camera in Times Square

I saw some police officers standing around with assault rifles in their hands, but unfortunately my camera was malfunctioning.

As I went further down Broadway, I came upon the Walgreens and snapped a photo just in time to catch the breaking news.

Bank failures don't take a vacation

Bank failures don't take a vacation

Subway station in Times Square

Subway station in Times Square

I took the subway to the Port Authority station and walked down to the World Trade Center.

World Trade Center site

World Trade Center site

Staring me right in the face was the new WTC 7 building. For those who are unaware, not only did the twin towers, WTC 1 and WTC 2, fall on September 11, 2001, but WTC 7 did also. However, WTC 7 was not hit by any plane. For more information on this, google “wtc 7” or visit wearechange.org

The new WTC 7 building

The new WTC 7 building

Speaking of We Are Change, the patriots were at ground zero waking up passersby. I had the honor of meeting a hero of mine and a great American, Luke Rudkowski. Luke has balls of steel and a fire in his soul. We should all strive to be as active, peaceful, and patriotic as this young American. Thank you, Luke, for all that you do. Thank you to all of the We Are Change members, worldwide.

Luke Rudkowski of We Are Change

Luke Rudkowski of We Are Change at Ground Zero, being the change he wants to see in the world

9-11 was an inside job

Luke snapped a photo of me proudly holding the banner

I was happy to hear that these folks are receiving an overwhelmingly positive response. I even spoke with a Port Authority worker (I won’t post his picture here, for his protection) who spoke fervently of his love for his country and his hurt that people in positions of power in this country caused the 9-11 attacks and killed his friends.

All in all it was a nice day in the city, but this just goes to show you that as we continue to live our lives and enjoy ourselves, we must remain vigilant and active. The police state doesn’t sleep, it doesn’t go on vacation, and it will never stop growing on its own. We mustn’t stop living, but we have a duty to this country to remain active citizens and create change by becoming change. No President will ever bring change to this country. Only you and I can accomplish that.

~ by skepsis on November 24, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
